Local 21 Members Honored as Pride of San Jose

Several Local 21 Members were recognized for their work on projects and for representing "the highest level of public service and commitment to the City of San Jose and its residents."  The teams were highlighted based on the "Employee Values of Integrity, Innovation, Excellence, Collaboration, Respect and Celebration."  Congratulations to Local 21 Members for continuing the highest quality of work for the City.

Building Better Streets Team:  Highlighted for their work resurfacing The Alameda and Monterey Road.Staff obtained $12 million in federal funds to resurface the roads with smooth and quiet asphalt made from recycled tires; improve crosswalks, lighting, and landscaping on The Alameda; and enhance Monterey Road with buffered bike lanes.

Congratulations to Local 21 Members: AEA's Lam Cruz, Francis Guevarra, Ramon Montenegro, John Raaymakers, Roshan Shukla, Sally Salman and Erwin Wong; and CAMP's Adolfo Alvarez, John Burchfiel, Kelly Doyle and Ricardo Valdes.

Homelessness Response Team:This team from various City departments shut down a dangerous and unhealthy homeless encampment along Coyote Creek near Story Road, known nationally as The Jungle.  Staff rehoused hundreds of people seeking shelter.

Local 21 Member Honorees: CAMP's Paul Ledesma, Sharon Newton and Cindy Rebhan.

San Jose Recreation Preschool Team:  After experiencing declining enrollment, staff restructured the program to meet "parents’ changing needs and expectations; adjusted schedules and curriculum; invested in professional development for instructors; and aligned programs with statewide standards for academic and social achievement to address decreasing enrollment."

Local 21 Members Recognized:  CAMP's Mary O'Meara and Hal Spangenberg.

WorkForce Support and Development Team: "A cross-section of City employees from all departments and from all levels in the organization are reinventing, reimagining, and reinvigorating our entire approach to developing (the City's) workforce, from recruiting to succession planning."

Local 21 Members:  CAMP's Kara Capaldo, Priscilla Cramer, Sandra Castellano, Emily Hendon, Walter Lin and Shirley Mata.